Citizens for Fauquier Conty Logo

Kitty P. Smith Award

2021's Award Reception Honoring Kenny Smith

On October 18, 2021, guests gathered at historic Hopefield in Warrenton, VA for the sixth annual Kitty P. Smith Awards. Guests included awardee Kenny Smith along with his family, elected officials, donors and supporters, the CFFC board, and founder Hope Porter. 

Screen Shot 2021-10-04 at 12.39.59 PM.png

About the Kitty P. Smith Award

The Kitty P. Smith Award was established by Citizens for Fauquier County to honor outstanding conservationists who have contributed greatly to preserving the county’s rural landscape, historical resources and agricultural economy.

For more than 20 years, Dr. Smith, a long-term Fauquier resident, set the standard for advocating wise land conservation. She served as a board member of CFFC and Goose Creek Association, staff member of the Piedmont Environmental Council and was a hands-on participant with numerous civic organizations. Her influence was also felt on the Fauquier County Agricultural and Forestal District Committee and Capital Improvements Committee.

Meet Kenny Smith

Screen Shot 2021-10-25 at 8.11.58 PM.png


2015 — Kitty Smith

2016 — George Thompson

2017 — Jocelyn Sladen

2018 — Georgia Herbert

2019 — Hope Porter and Bob Lee

2021 — Ken Smith